Cryptography and Network Security Syllabus

1. Introduction (12 Periods)
Need for securing a network; attacks from within and external, introduction to cyber crime, cyber law-Indian Perspective (IT Act 2000), cyber ethics, ethical hacking. What is hacking. attacker etc.

2. Securing Data over Internet (12Periods)
Introduction to basic encryption and decryption, concept of symmetric and asymmetric key cryptography, Cipher technique PPTP/L2TP, overview of DES, RSA and PGP. Introduction to Hashing: MD5, SSL, SSH, HTTPS, Digital Signatures.

3. Virus, Worms and Trojans (10 Periods)
Definitions, preventive measures – access central, checksum verification, process neutering, virus scanners, neuristic scanners, application level virus scanners, deploying virus protection.

4. Computer Network Attacks: (08 Periods)
Active Attacks, Passive Attacks, Stealing Passwords, Social Engineering, Bugs and Backdoors, Authentication Failures, Protocol Failures, Information Leakage, Denial-of-Service Attacks, Botnets, Phishing Attacks

5. Firewalls (08 Periods)
Definition and types of firewalls, defining access control policies, address translation, firewall logging, firewall deployment

6. Intrusion Detection System (IDS) (06 Periods)
Introduction; IDS limitations – teardrop attacks, counter measures; Host based IDS set up

7. Virtual Private Network (VPN) (08 Periods)
Basics, setting of VPN, VPN diagram, configuration of required objects, exchanging keys, modifying security policy

1 thought on “Cryptography and Network Security Syllabus”

Leave a Comment